NDSU | CHALLEY SCHOOL OF MUSIC

J. Samuel Pilafian Composition Competition Recital

Tuesday, May 3, 2022

7:30 p.m.

Beckwith Recital Hall

William Russell, tuba Tyler Wottrich, piano Sigurd Johnson, drums Jon Rudolph, guitar

Jabba the Hutt (1983)

John Williams (b. 1932)

arr. Thomas Jöstlein

Concerto for Bass Tuba (1954)

II. Romanza

Ralph Vaughan Williams

(1872-1958)

Sonata for Tuba and Piano (2022)

I. Tempest

II. Remember

III. Final rítmico

Christopher Alan Schmitz

(b. 1972)

World Premiere

J. Samuel Pilafian Composition Competition Winner

ElevenTwelve (2019)

Joanna Ross Hersey

Let There Be Funk (2001)

D. Edward Davis (b. 1980)

Muskrat Ramble (1926)

Edward Ory (1886-1973)

Smoke That Fire (1997)

James Andrews and Troy Andrews

(b. 1969, b. 1986)

When the Saints Go Marching In

Traditional

IMPACTFUNIVERSITY

NDSU FOUNDATION AND ALUMNI ASSOCIATION



NDSU

CHALLEY SCHOOL OF MUSIC

North Dakota State University does not discriminate on the basis of age, color, disability, gender expression/identity, genetic information, marital status, national origin, public assistance status,race, religion, sex, sexual orientation or status as a U.S. veteran. Direct inquiries to the Vice President for Equity, Diversity and Global Outreach, 205 Old Main, (701) 231-7708.